Dr. Arrangelove, or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Jon Stewart

I don’t often write about issues in archives-land, but when it comes to making fun of archivists, I’m kind of the expert.

Apparently there is some concern on teh interwebz over Jon Stewart talking smack about archivists. Now, I’ve accused our profession of some pretty bad stuff: Twittering instead of working, not bathing, getting off from old manuscripts. I could go on. And I’ve been getting away with it for a while.

“But Dee Dee!” you cry. “We’re all archivists here!”  Not so! Thanks to the relative obscurity of our profession, I’m less likely to be introduced as “the archivist” than as “the one who draws a webcomic,” and so we have a few readers who don’t know much about archives. (Hi there! Thanks for reading!) And I have to say, explaining archives works so much better when there’s the payoff of understanding a joke at the end. I know because I do it all the time.

Thank you, Jon Stewart, for providing archEYEvists with this valuable teaching moment, and for hosting the only news show worth watching.

And now, your Moment of Zen:

photocomic_fawns

Image by tommaync

9 Responses to “Dr. Arrangelove, or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Jon Stewart”

  1. Brad Houston Says:

    I have always been partial to http://patriarchive.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/fonzie.jpg, myself.

    Also, as I tweeted earlier this morning, being in a position where the Records Management list has more of a sense of humor about something than you do is a bad place to be.

  2. Maureen Says:

    Brilliant. Simply brilliant. Could you also do a webcomic about that very not funny and kind of sexist “Friday Funny” that went out today and makes me think that the writers of Everybody Loves Raymond called ten years ago and want their B material back?

  3. Eira Says:

    Could you do one on all the people who say their kid never writes about their archivist parent for “What my parents do” school projects? Whenever this comes up, all I can think is that their elevator speech must be either a) non-existent or b) full of archivist jargon.

  4. Eira Says:

    I think the line “this is why mommy drinks” could play a starring role…

  5. Archival Literacy and the Role of Universities in Archival Instruction | ActiveHistory.ca Says:

    […] Photo comic by Rebecca Goldman CC-BY-NC […]

  6. Ontario Extend mOOC – Module 1 – Krista McCracken Says:

    […] Image by Rebecca Goldman, Derangement and Description Webcomic,  November 13, 2009. CC-NC-SA […]

Leave a comment