Let’s make an archives music video; or, Archives Paradise

Instead of posting a comic this week, I want to talk about video.

By now, most of you have probably seen the Librarians Do Gaga video by a bunch of library school kids. And there are tons more videos by library students and librarians.

Archivists, I think we can make a music video too. Go to http://groups.google.com/group/archives-music-video and request an invite if you are interested in helping with production. (Not just interested in watching–that part comes much later!)

I humbly volunteer my services as a lyricist. You can listen to a sample of my work below, and I just finished the full lyrics for Archivists Do Gaga, which I think is a natural choice for our first video.

Clarification: There is no video for Archives Paradise in the works, unless you want to finish the lyrics yourself.

(Original song, original midi. I claim fair use. Please link to this page and not directly to the audio file, thanks!)

Lyrics after the jump.

Archives Paradise

As I walk through the basement, far from natural light
I take a look at my life, and realize, it’s quite alright
‘Cause I’ve been arranging and describing so long
That even the interns think that my mind is gone
But I ain’t never crossed a patron that didn’t deserve it
Even for genealogists, I got no access restrict-ions
You better watch how ya processin’
and the fonds, keep respectin’
Or you and your homies might be deaccessioned
I really hate to leave but I gotta zoom
I’ve got researchers waiting for me in the reading room
Fool, I’m the archivist grad students wanna be like
Wearing gloves, breathing dust,
Red rot on my shirt front
Been spending most our lives, living in an archives paradise
No silverfish or mice, living in an archives paradise
A&A gives good advice, living in an archives paradise
Who cares about inherent vice, living in an archives paradise

Tags: ,

10 Responses to “Let’s make an archives music video; or, Archives Paradise”

  1. Libaries & archives = awesome & fun | Elizabeth Skene Says:

    […] Lastly, Rebecca, over at Derangement & Description, has created a wonderful parody of “Gangster’s Paradise” called “Archives Paradise” in reply to the librarian’s Gaga parody. Check out the clever lyrics & the wonderful rapping at her blog. […]

  2. Sheepy Says:

    \o/

    My only concern is that Coolio can’t compete with GaGa.

  3. Michelle Riggs Says:

    Still laughing–soooo funny!!!! GREAT IDEA!!!!!!

  4. Stephanie C. Says:

    Love the lyrics! Great Idea. I’ve shared it with several of my archivist friends who don’t get the A&A e-mails

  5. Beth Says:

    Wonderful!

  6. Danna Says:

    Love it!!! Very Creative!

  7. Sabine Says:

    Hi, I am an archivist from Germany. I really love it.

  8. Sarah Says:

    I can help with lyrics. How many verses do you want?

Leave a comment