Derangement and Description Loves xkcd Loves the Discovery Channel

Click through to see an epic 24-panel comic!

Inspired by this xkcd comic, which was inspired by this video. A million cubic feet of thanks to Christie Peterson for suggesting the idea!

Hey Derangers: want to make a video like the xkcdians did? Share your ideas in the comments!

Photo credits (links to images in Flickr Commons):

Panel 3: Smithsonian Institution

Panel 17: Center for Jewish History

Panel 20: Field Museum

Panel 22: The U.S. National Archives

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Derangement and Description Loves xkcd Loves the Discovery Channel”

  1. Miranda Says:

    This is AWESOME!!!! Your best one yet — keep up the good work…..

  2. EiserfeldWolf Says:

    1) I could take the sentence “I love doc boxes” – in German? With one of our boxes in my bureau?

    2) At the end of the film “Archives are awesome” and then fade away?

    3) In autumn Iget a new magazin, so I can take a nice shot in an empty room with “I love magazins”

  3. shorty j Says:

    okay, I would like to put in a request that someone animate this in gif form so I can use it as a livejournal userpic (like people did with the xkcd one). Seriously, this is brilliant!

  4. Jillis Says:

    shorty, I put the first 8 frames into an animated gif for you. (I hope that’s OK with you, DeeDee.) I really don’t know if it’s small enough to use as avatar anywhere. I kind of just wanted to see if I could figure out how to animate something in Photoshop. You can download it here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/varekai97x/4617691432/sizes/o/

    Please do let me know if you’d like me to remove it from my flickr photos, DeeDee.

  5. Link Love: 6/4/2010 « The Bigger Picture Says:

    […] Animated gifs and archivist humor, sung to the tune of that camp song we all must have learned (“I love the mountains, I love the rolling hills . . .”). [via, Jennifer Wright, […]

  6. Susan Says:

    This would make a fun poster!

    • Dee Dee Says:

      I agree! I’m not sure if the resolution is high enough for anything bigger than 8.5 x 11, but I’ll investigate poster-printing options.

  7. Elena Rosemond-Hoerr Says:

    We made this video, in your honor. http://vimeo.com/14294187 We at the Jewish Museum of Maryland think you’re awesome!

Leave a comment