Put a QR code on it!

Put a QR code on it! (full transcription below)

Put a QR code on it!

This comic really really needs to be a video–if you want to film it, let me know and I’ll finish the script!

Photo credits:

Panel 1, 3, 5: Hazel Gay from the Smithsonian Institution

Panel 2, 3, 6: Photograph of Mrs. Adelaide Minogue Checking Humidity Recorder in Stacks, 1942 from the U.S. National Archives

Panel 4: Library , c1981 from LSE Library

Panel 7: Student at Work at Senior High School in New Ulm, Minnesota from the U.S. National Archives

Panel 9: library signage -New books by rhondda.p

Panel 10, 11: Archives’ stacks by dolescum

Panel 12: Libguides from Phillips Memorial Library, Dr. John Archer Library, University of Melbourne Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library

Panel 13: Binding by Morrell, late 19th or early 20th century from National Library NZ on The Commons

Panel 14: Finding aids SPL by leeleblanc

Panel 15: Sleeper by John C Abell

Panel 16: Book Moving Cart by Jeffrey Beall

Panel 17: Book of Hours, f.108r, (184 x 133 mm), 15th century, Alexander Turnbull Library, MSR-02 from National Library NZ on The Commons

Transcription after the jump.

Hi, I’m a librarian
Hi, I’m an archivist
and we put QR codes on things
Today we’re going to go to an academic library. Nothing has QR codes on it.
But you know what we’re gonna do? We’re gonna put QR codes on things.
Spruce it up! Make it pretty!
Thank you.
Put a QR code on it!
I’m putting a QR code on this sign. It’s a QR code! QR codes just magically make everything modern and relevant.
Look at this sad little doc box. I know! I’ll put a QR code on it!
Did you see this box before? I didn’t. Now there’s a QR code! It’s user-friendly! It’s informative!
I’m putting a QR code on a QR code that links to a Libguide about QR codes.
Put
A
QR code
On
It!

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Put a QR code on it!”

  1. Katie Birkwood (@Girlinthe) Says:

    Oh wow. I wish I knew how people made videos – I’d definitely give it a go if I have the faintest idea how it was done.

  2. Gene Says:

    Ah, shades of Portlandia and “Put a bird on it” !

  3. Beth Says:

    I love it!! Put a bird on it!

  4. mintwood Says:

    YES!

  5. Rachel Says:

    YES!

  6. Megan Says:

    Once upon a time, I had the enviable assignment of getting 3D bar codes onto printed material for warehousing. So upon seeing this, I was not at all sure if I should laugh out loud or burst into tears.

  7. Dana Says:

    Totally got to use this in class today.

Leave a comment