Provenance (Shake It Off)

If you’ve finally gotten Shake It Off out of your head…sorry, dude.

Provenance (Shake It Off)

Some papers in a crate
They left it at the gate
Don’t even have a name, mmm-mmm
Don’t even have a name, mmm-mmm

I don’t have too many dates
Series all in disarray
And I really need a name, mmm-mmm
I really need a name, mmm-mmm

Cause I’m processin’
Bringing the context in
Person or organization, in my mind
Sayin’ “please tell my story right.”

‘Cause creators gonna make
And the archive’s gonna take
All those boxes look the same
I need provenance, provenance

Chain of custody will break
And those finding aids don’t aid
All those boxes look the same
Without that provenance, provenance

Describe consistently
Bio note or history
And that’s called EAD, mmm-mmm
That’s called EAD, mmm-mmm

Lives lived long ago
How do I let them show?
And that’s what I don’t know, mmm-mmm
That’s what I don’t know, mmm-mmm

So I’m processin’
Bringing the context in
Person or organization, in my mind
Sayin’ “please tell my story right.”

‘Cause creators gonna make
And the archive’s gonna take
All those boxes look the same
I need provenance, provenance

Chain of custody will break
And those finding aids don’t aid
All those boxes look the same
Without that provenance, provenance

Respect the fonds, respect the fonds
I, I, respect the fonds, respect the fonds
Respect the fonds, respect the fonds
I, I, respect the fonds, respect the fonds

Hey hey hey
Just think,
while you’ve been reading all those published books in the world,
you could’ve been getting history from, the, source.
That donor brought some new papers
Got a deed of gift, I record the provenance.
And this photo over there, dude’s got hella good hair,
But I know he’s prob’ly dead, thanks to provenance

‘Cause creators gonna make
And the archive’s gonna take
All those boxes look the same
I need provenance, provenance

Chain of custody will break
And those finding aids don’t aid
All those boxes look the same
Without that provenance, provenance

Respect the fonds, respect the fonds
I, I, respect the fonds, respect the fonds
Respect the fonds, respect the fonds
I, I, respect the fonds, respect the fonds

 

Tags:

4 Responses to “Provenance (Shake It Off)”

  1. Susan Hughes Says:

    Awesome! Thanks for the laugh on a Monday morning!

  2. Meridith Says:

    This is brilliant!

  3. Kate Says:

    Tee hee! (I hadn’t heard the song–ah, tv-free life–but youtubed it and have now received an education in pop culture as well as an awesome thing to show students next year.)

  4. ceva linkuri. | Says:

    […] Colind arhivistic :D […]

Leave a Reply

