Missed Opportunities: a haiku

So, maybe you heard that I was one of the winners of this archives haiku contest? Some people asked for an illustrated version, so here you go. I made this one extra big so you can print it out at any size and stick it on your wall.

Title: Missed Opportunities. Haiku: Hey, handsome stranger/ Saw your pic in the archives/ Too bad you're dead now. And who's that daguerreotype hottie? "Portrait of a Young Man," from the Museum of Photographic Arts Collections http://www.flickr.com/photos/mopa1/5710931881

Title: Missed Opportunities. Haiku: Hey, handsome stranger/ Saw your pic in the archives/ Too bad you're dead now. And who's that daguerreotype hottie? "Portrait of a Young Man," from the Museum of Photographic Arts Collections http://www.flickr.com/photos/mopa1/5710931881

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Missed Opportunities: a haiku”

  1. Susan Says:

    I bust out laughing when I heard that at the first SAA session. My intern and I have pinned photos of all the handsome sailors from our WWII collection to our walls. We frequently lament that most of them were killed in the war – and that ones who survived are way to old for us now.

  2. Jaci Spuhler Says:

    I love my dead people…this is perfect, sailors especially. The fleet’s in….

  3. Lisa Pasquinelli Rickey Says:

    Haha, that’s great. Definitely one of the best looking people I have seen in a daguerreotype! Have you seen the site “My Daguerreotype Boyfriend”? You should definitely submit it. :-)

  4. Hello, sailor! | Glancing Backwards Says:

    [...] I saw this post from the Derangement and Description blog today, it made me chuckle. Apparently, the blog’s author Rebecca was one of the winners of [...]

  5. krichardsbrown Says:

    He kind of looks like my future brother-in-law. Great Haiku!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,865 other followers

