Archivists Do Gaga

The archives music video project team has decided to use a different song for our first effort. Here, for your enjoyment, are the lyrics to “Archivists Do Gaga.” As always, these are Creative Commons-licensed, so if you want to turn them into a song or video, that would be awesome!

Archivists Do Gaga

You seek primary sources for historical research
But the library catalog has left you in the lurch
The archives contains all the information that you need
So come on down and we’ll give you a document to read
Oh, oh, oh, oh, ohhhh, ohh-oh-e-ohh-oh-oh
An archivist is hard to resist!
Oh, oh, oh, oh, ohhhh, ohh-oh-e-ohh-oh-oh
An archivist is hard to resist!
Can use my
Can use my
Yeah, you can use my finding aids
They’re EAD-encoded
Can use my
Can use my
Yeah, you can use my finding aids
They’re EAD-encoded
F-f-f-finding aids, f-f-finding aids
Muh muh muh mah
F-f-f-finding aids, f-f-finding aids
Muh muh muh mah
When we get new collections, we try to make some sense
Of who created them, and all of their contents
Arrangement and description make them usable for you
And help you find the sources for the research that you do
Oh, oh, oh, oh, ohhhh, ohh-oh-e-ohh-oh-oh
An archivist is hard to resist!
Oh, oh, oh, oh, ohhhh, ohh-oh-e-ohh-oh-oh
An archivist is hard to resist!
Can use my
Can use my
Yeah, you can use my finding aids
They’re EAD-encoded
Can use my
Can use my
Yeah, you can use my finding aids
They’re EAD-encoded
F-f-f-finding aids, f-f-finding aids
Muh muh muh mah
F-f-f-finding aids, f-f-finding aids
Muh muh muh mah
Welcome to the reading room
No pens in here please, pencils
are the sole writing utensils
Staff will retrieve your selections
Then you can use our collections
Just respect original order
I promise this, I promise this
You’ll find history marvelous
Can use my
Can use my
Yeah, you can use my finding aids
They’re EAD-encoded…
F-f-f-finding aids, f-f-finding aids…
Tags:

One Response to “Archivists Do Gaga”

  1. Archivists Do Gaga: The Video « Derangement and Description Says:

    […] Remember a while ago when I wrote some lyrics for a little song called Archivists Do Gaga? […]

Leave a Reply

